Here you can find an overview of the LiME Hub’s management group and the advisory panels that we regularly consult with.

Hub Management Group

The objective of the HMG is to ensure the successful execution of the Hub research and outreach programme through effective coordination of the Hub and its stakeholders. The HMG holds regular meetings to review and act on outstanding issues. Quarterly HMG meetings review the progress of all platform research activities and maintain project flexibility. The Hub Manager assists the Director to run the Hub programme on a daily basis, to co-ordinate the research activities between the Hub and its spokes, and to manage the various interfaces between the Hub and its widest possible stakeholders. The Hub Administrator assists with the general management of the Hub and works on the delivery of the Hub’s outreach programme.

HMG Members

Professor Zhongyun Fan, Director/Principal Investigator, Chairman

Professor Geoff Scamans, Co-Investigator

Professor Patrick Grant, Co-Investigator

Professor Andrew Mullis, Co-Investigator

Professor Xiaorong Zhou, Co-Investigator

Dr Christopher Gourlay, Co-Investigator

Dr Mark Jones, LiME Manager

International Advisory Board

The function of the International Advisory Board is to advise the Hub Management Group on strategic research directions in solidification science and technology and to benchmark the Hub’s academic research quality from an international perspective.

IAB Members

Professor Lorenz Ratke, (DLR) German Aerospace Centre, Germany – Chairman

Professor Lars Arnberg, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NTNU, Norway

Dr Richard Bailey, Senior Manufacturing for the Future Manager, EPSRC, UK

Professor Lindsay Greer, University of Cambridge, UK

Professor Karl Kainer, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany

Professor Wilfried Kurz, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, EPFL, Switzerland

Professor John Perepezko, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Professor David StJohn, University of Queensland, Australia


Industrial Steering Panel

The functions of  the Industrial Steering Panel is to ensure the industrial relevance of the Hub’s research. ISP membership will be reviewed by the HMG annually to reflect the dynamic nature of the research programme, and will include an EPSRC nominee. A progress overview of the GCRAs will be presented to the ISP at its bi-annual meetings by the HMG, accounting for confidentiality issues where appropriate. Each GCRA will have its own quarterly progress meeting with the project leader, the project team members (as required) and the industrial partners involved.

ISP Members

Mr Martin Jarrett, Constellium, Chairman

Dr Richard Bailey, EPSRC

Mr Henry Dickinson, Norton Aluminium

Mr Anthony Evan, Sarginsons

Professor Graham Machin, National Physical Laboratory

Dr John Morlidge, Innovate UK

Dr Pam Murrell, Cast Metals Federation

Mr Jan Strid, Sapa

Dr Doug Watson, Jaguar Land Rover